Red Ribbon Week Scholarship Contest Winner

December 6, 2023

Paint Valley ADAMH announces Red Ribbon Week Scholarship Contest winners

The Paint Valley Alcohol Drug Addiction and Mental Health Board has selected winners for its tenth annual “Write in Red” Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest.

The contest was part of Red Ribbon Week, observed Oct. 23-27, and was open to all middle and high school students in Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike, and Ross counties. Students were given a red pen to write an essay for the contest about how to prevent drug, alcohol, and tobacco abuse. This year, 14 of the 22 school districts in the Paint Valley ADAMH Board’s service area submitted entries. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university. School winners also each received a $100

“I am thankful for the young people in our community. It was encouraging to read all of the great responses submitted by our students,” said Melanie Swisher, Paint Valley ADAMH Board Executive Director. “I hope the community will join us in congratulating the winners and all of the students who participated in the contest and other Red Ribbon Week activities. All of our children are worthy of love and support. Together, we can create a healthy community for our young people.”

The following students were awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s essay contest and a $500 scholarship for winning the county contest:

• Sienna Hartley, Miami Trace Middle School - Fayette County
• Jillian Harvey, Fairfield High School - Highland County
• Makenzi Bates, Westfall High School – Pickaway County
• Gabrielle Wall, Waverly High School - Pike County
• Jozy Lougheed, Southeastern High School - Ross County

The following students were school winners and awarded $100:

• Daymion Daulton, Washington CH Middle School 
• Jenna Canada, White Oak Middle School
• Kaliyan Pendleton, Fairfield Middle School
• Abigail Baker, Teays Valley High School
• Alexandra McKinley, Greenfield High School
• Brent McGuire, Piketon High School
• Kyleigh Shoemaker, Greenfield Middle School
• Ryleigh Sabo, Piketon Middle School
• Bria McDonald, Hillsboro High School
• Roxanne Milar, Western High School
• Caraline West, Lynchburg Clay High School
• Cora Lynn Collins, Western Middle School
• Lily Layne, Lynchburg Clay Middle School
• Hannah Kempton, Huntington High School
• Ivree Burns, White Oak High School

The Paint Valley ADAMH Board is a political subdivision of state government created in 1967 by the Ohio legislature to ensure the availability of community-based addiction and mental health services for the residents of Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike, and Ross counties.